2002-11-24 at 8:04 p.m.

Psychotherapy on a Budget

My final recital is in less than two days.

This is most consternating.

(It has occurred to me that this is the exact same situation I was in when I began this diary, five months ago. Five months, and I've only gone all angsty once. That has to be some sort of Diaryland record.)

As you may have noticed, the growing proximity of my recital is causing me to go a little bit kooky- well, kookier than usual, anyway. Because of this, I decided it was time for a session with my analyst.

Or, rather, 'My Analyst�'

'My Analyst�' is rather different to your usual analyst. It's a magic eight ball.

An analytical magic eight ball.

I bought it at one of those El Cheapo shops full of defective merchandise. (I was also sorely tempted to purchase a plastic recorder being touted as a 'Happy Flute'. Can you imagine it?

Father- 'Susie, what are you doing in there?'

Daughter- 'Just blowing Timmy's Happy Flute, daddy'.)

You tell 'My Analyst�' all your neurotic thoughts, twisted dreams, and goat-related sexual fantasies, and 'My Analyst�' dispenses thoughtful, helpful advice.

Now, for your entertainment and psychotheraputic health, I will engage in a live session (well, live for me, not for you, obviously) with 'My Analyst�'.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm getting a little nervous about my recital on Tuesday. I know I'm pretty well prepared, but I still worry about forgetting the music, or making mistakes, or showing up naked...

HMMMMMMMMMMM...

Yes, naked! I almost did that, once. I'd been in a bit of a rush that morning, and in the haste of leaving, I forgot to dress! If it hadn't been for the riotous laughter of those construction workers on the way there...

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

About what? My recital? Or my shameful nudity?

HOW DID THAT MAKE YOU FEEL?

The naked thing? Pretty embarassed, to be honest. And fairly cold, since it was the middle of winter.

FREE YOUR INNER CHILD

That's probably not a good idea. It needs to go potty.

LETS MOVE ON

Yes, that's probably a good idea. What should I talk about now? My fear of red ballpoint pens? My sexual fantasies about Danny DeVito? My delusions of granduer? My delusions of delusions of granduer?

LESS GUILT MORE SMILES

Oh, sure, that's easy for you to say. You don't wake up every night screaming 'The eggbeaters! The eggbeaters! Oh, the humanity!' *sniff* Can I borrow one of those tissues? Thanks.

LETS GO WITH THAT

Okay, you really want to know? Well, there was a rather traumatic occasion when I was three. While reaching for a biscuit, I accidentally pulled the cutlery drawer down on my head. Oh, the horror! Whisks and ladles rained down all around me. I was *sob* struck on the head by an eggbeater... My parents had to get it surgically removed from my cranium. Even now, when I hear that tinny whisking sound... *sniff*

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

I think that, maybe, that's why I've been blaming everything on eggbeaters lately. Though, they are evil.

YOURE IN DENIAL

Oh, I am not.

YOURE IN DENIAL

La la la la la la la I'm not listening! la la la la...

TALK ABOUT YOUR MOTHER

Mum? What can I say about Mum? That won't get read here by a member of my family and then used against me at a later date?

WHO AM I TALKING TO NOW?

Bob. I'm the personality that resides in Michelle's lower neocortex. I just wanted to make sure Michelle was taping 'Friends'. Sorry, I'll put Michelle back on now hey, what just happened?

ARE YOU TAKING YOUR MEDS?

Is crystal meth a med?

BREAKTHROUGH!

I made a breakthrough?

That explains the hole in my wall.

ARE YOU A BED WETTER?

Only with drool.

HOW DID THAT MAKE YOU FEEL?

Damp. And faintly sticky.

I DONT DATE PATIENTS

That's a good policy, especially since I'm a person and you're an inanimate plastic ball. That could really cause a lot of problems along the track. That said, with the right lubrication...

SORRY TIMES UP

Wow! Thank you, 'My Analyst�'! I feel much more mentally balanced and centered!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Got any psychoses? Can't stop burning things? Think John Stamos is the most talented man alive? Consult 'My Analyst�', free of charge! Simply leave me a note, or send me an email with your problem. I will consult with 'My Analyst�', and get back to you. Mental health is a gift for all, and I'm definitely hogging more than my fair share if it.

La la la la la I can't hear you! la la la la la...

previous - next - older

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!