2003-02-02 at 1:28 p.m.

An Ode to My Kitchen

While browsing randomly around Diaryland today (and it is most disheartening to discover how many people are better, funnier writers than I am) I discovered-

Suck Ass Poems

Basically, the premise is- you write a suck ass poem. You submit it, and it gets published on the site. You don't need any skill, talent, or literacy. And thusly, the fun begins.

Some favorite poems-

If I had a Penis, Part I

If I had a penis

I would wirte your name

If I had a penis

I would write your name

in the snow

Rekhodiah's Stupid Cat

Silly cat

It's a computer mouse

Not a real mouse

Now back off

Before I spritz your face again.

Stupid cat

The Lost Sock Dimension

Deep in the bowels of my washer

And in the hot turgid gaping dryer

There is a portal to another place

The lost sock dimension...

Swirling and whirling

Hotter and hotter

The spin cycle creates a wormhole

And then... gone...

The sock has lost its buddy

To a dimension of dirty laundry

Single socks litter the lost laundry-landscape

No more pairs, no more leg hairs...

The socks run wild and free!

And the epically titled...

'ODE TO TEA' BY BEN LAUSSADE (AND THIS ONE REALLY DOES SUCK GENEROUS AMOUNTS OF ASS)

fuck you

my ankle hurts

my ankle hurts

fuck you

my ankle hurts

fuck you

fuck you

my ankle hurts

vagina

But, of course, I wasn't merely content to read and enjoy the poems on offer. If you've learned anything about me by now, it's that I don't sit idly by and let others hog all the glory. I want a piece of the action, damnit.

And therefore, I am proud to present to you my very own Suck Ass poem.

An Ode to my Kitchen

A fridge that doesn't keep things cold,

A microwave imbued with mould,

Some eggs which are extremely old-

It makes me quite distressed.

My kettle is a home for ants,

The cheese is growing grey-ish plants,

The jaffle-iron stole my pants!

My kitchen is possessed.

And though the kitchen's quite obscene

Please don't suppose that I don't clean!

Such an assumption would be mean

And blatantly untrue.

No matter how I scrub and spray

The Kitchen Demons always stay

To torment me another day-

What is a girl to do!?

So, whaddaya think? Does it suck? But more importantly, does it suck ass?

I think so.

So, now the ball's in your court, people. Go and submit your own Suck Ass poem. (Don't worry if you aren't a Diaryland member, I don't think you need to be). And to conclude with the words of the immortal bard, William Shakespeare-

'I think Crab, my dog, be the sourest-natured dog that lives'.

And I think there's something in that for all of us.

previous - next - older

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!